FEATURED ARTIST: Kamilah Adassa

 22 23

Tell me a little about yourself…      

My name is Kamilah, I am a Virgo and I am 22 years old based in Wolverhampton, UK. I am also a vegan and very much into the natural living. I create jewelry with an Afrocentric theme.

How’d you get started, or what prompted you to begin crafting in your genre?

Being a very cultural person it was hard to find cultural jewelry that I could wear on a daily basis, so I decided to try and create my own, I was amazed by peoples’ reactions so from there I started to take it more seriously.

24

How long have you been an artist/crafter? When did you first discover your artistic/crafter ability?

When I was very young I used to make necklaces and bracelets out of newspaper not realizing I had an artistic eye but I didn’t know at that time it would turn into what it is now.

Where can we check out and buy your work?

www.adassas.com

www.etsy.com/people/adassascreations

26 25

What do you get out of being an artist/crafter?

It’s a great feeling seeing my ideas come to life. It brings me joy to see people’s faces light up when they see my creations

What inspires you to create the art you do? Where do you get your inspiration?

I have grown up in a strong cultural family and since a very young age I have been exposed to a lot of black culture.  I have also attended countless cultural events.

27

What do others seem to love about your crafts/art, as far as feedback you have gotten?

They seem to love the uniqueness of my creations also not being able to find cultural jewelry around the areas they live.

What is your advice to fellow crafters/artists?

My advice would be to always strive for greatness and aim to create products with a strong purpose and never be afraid to express your ideas.

28

How would you describe your style, or form of artistry?

Unique with ancestral forces radiating through my fingers…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.